Announcement of new Members and Alternate Members

The Heritage Council of Victoria is very pleased to announce the appointment of a new Member and new Alternate Members, as recommended by the Minister for Planning and approved by the Governor in Council.

  • Mr Michael McMahon – Member who is an Aboriginal person with relevant experience or knowledge of cultural heritage
  • Ms Megan McDougall – Alternate general member
  • Mr Peter Mathieson – Alternate building/engineering member
  • Dr Steve Campbell-Wright – Alternate history member
  • Mr David Helms – Alternate urban/regional planning member

We would also like to announce the appointment of Ms Margaret Baird as Deputy Chair of the Heritage Council and her reappointment as urban/regional planning member. Ms Helen Doyle has been appointed as the history Member and Mr David Hogg as the engineering and building construction Member. Mr Justin Naylor, Mr Mark Burgess and Mr Adrian Finanzio SC are all being reappointed in their existing categories for a second term.

The Heritage Council is an independent statutory authority made up of ten members and ten alternates with professional qualifications in specific areas as outlined in the Heritage Act 2017. Council members are drawn from a wide range of professional disciplines and organisations.

If you wish to learn more about the Members, head to the Member Profiles page.