The Heritage Council of Victoria welcomes its new Chair and Members

Internationally renowned academic, Professor Philip Goad has been appointed Chair of the Heritage Council of Victoria.

Professor Goad is a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor and Chair of Architecture at the University of Melbourne. Professor Goad is also Co-Director of the Australian Centre for Architectural History, Urban and Cultural Heritage. He has extensive experience as an architect, consultant, curator and researcher.

Professor Goad is a leader in the field of architectural history and a respected academic with significant experience in assessing and managing cultural heritage. He is internationally known for his research and is an authority on modern Australian architecture. He has worked extensively as an architect, conservation consultant, and curator. He is also an expert on the life and work of Robin Boyd, and has held visiting scholar positions at Columbia University, Bartlett School of Architecture (London) and UCLA (Los Angeles).

Along with Professor Julie Willis, he is the editor of The Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture.

The Heritage Council of Victoria is also pleased to announce other new appointments and reappointments as recommended by the Minister for Planning and approved by the Governor in Council.

Dr Helen Doyle has been appointed History alternate member and Simon Molesworth AO, QC has been appointed as Legal member. Jamie Lowe and Rueben Berg were reappointed to Council for a second term.

The Heritage Council is an independent statutory authority made up of ten members and ten alternates with professional qualifications in specific areas as outlined in the Heritage Act 2017. Council members are drawn from a wide range of professional disciplines and organisations.